Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EE/HE/community confusion, OX newbie

Hi,

I'm new to Open-Xchange, and I'm trying to get a test site up and running for evaluation, and maybe for production later.
    The first thing I tried was the OX:EE vmware image, which was impressively easy to set up. But since I also wanted mobile device sync via funambol, there had to be something more flexible. Besides, I do wanted to know how things work.

Following the 'build from scratch' instructions in the wiki was no luck for me. There were countless build errors, probably because the library dependencies did not match exacly. I then copied the libs over from the OX:EE image, so the build process finally went through. The GUI then presented dozens of java errors, so I finally gave up on this one.

The second approach was the discontinued community installer. No luck either, BUILD FAILED. But there was another hint on that page, where would be debs available.

So I prepared to get the debs from
    Code:
    deb http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/server:/OX:/open-xchange-sp4-beta4/Debian_Etch /
    on a fresh installed debian, following this guide.
    Installation went fine, so I did set up postfix, cyrus, SASL, PAM, libnss_mysql to pull things from oxdatabase.

Funambol installation was straight forward. I got funambol bundle-6.5.14 with oxconnector-6.5.8 up and running following the provided guide. Syncing seems to work like it should.

There seems to be no admin interface. OK - I can live with that.
    Then I learned that there was no CLI for adding mail_domain so I had to INSERT INTO mail_domains. OK, not too complicated, I could eventually write a script for that. I liked that admin gui very much and I do miss it! Is it still to come or will it be a 'commercial' feature again?

Logging in into the gui gives me a 404 error in the info pane. Apache's error log says
    Code:
    File does not exist: /var/www/ox6/plugins/com.openexchange.passwordchange