No announcement yet.

Confusion, roadmap, and other things...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confusion, roadmap, and other things...

I am a newbie to Open-XChange, and I have read a lot of docs from your website, and I am still confused. My customer want to use Server 6, but NOT Server 5, due to the look and feel of new version. He is quite sure he wants the OX Extender for Outlook for about 10 people. But I need to install it as soon as possible (starting this month), and I am still confused :
    - by the different versions,
    - by the roadmap...
    So, my questions are :
    - may I start NOW with Hyperion Beta (=Server 6 ?),
    - may I upgrade it with the final version (and about when ?)
    - may I buy in the very near future, OX Extenders for Outlook upon this version (and same question : about when ? (as we have started the Q3 2008 )

Thanks in advance for any reply...

Hi,

I'm kind of an OX newbie myself, but with a little help from Martin, I got an idea what this is all about.

The most confusing thing to me was that where are two hyperion versions: 6.4.2 and 6.5

6.4.2 is currently in use as Hosting Edition, Express Edition and can be installed from source via the discontinued (but still working) community installer.

The Express/Source Edition has got a really nice and useful Admin GUI which is not present in other versions

6.5 is the upcoming version of Open-Xchange Server and OX:HE
    6.5 is to be the successor of OX5, OX:EE and OX:HE
    6.5 can manage mail filters via sieve
    6.5 is beta, and work in progress, so it should not be used in a productive environment
    6.5 has its HTTP API slightly changed, so current 3rd party clients and connectors like Funambol won't function correctly with the server at present time
    6.5 has no admin gui at all, administration is done via command line entirely.

6.4.2 on the other hand is stable and still supported
    6.4.2 can't manage sieve on it's own